Castillo left out of Ecuador’s 26-man World Cup squad

Nov 14 (Reuters) – Ecuador have left defender Byron Castillo out of their 26-man World Cup squad despite the player being deemed an Ecuadorian national by the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

CAS ruled earlier this month that Ecuador could play in the World Cup in Qatar after dismissing a claim by Chile that Castillo had been ineligible to play during the qualifiers.

But coach Gustavo Alfaro has decided not to call up Castillo after Ecuador received a three-point deduction for 2026 World Cup qualifiers and a fine of 100,000 Swiss francs ($106,033.29) for “using a document containing false information”.

In September, FIFA rejected Chile’s appeal following their original complaint that Castillo was born in Tumaco, Colombia in 1995 and not in the Ecuadorian city of General Villamil Playas in 1998, as stated on his official documents.

Also Read :  Ukraine: Russia Draftees Have to Dig Trenches With Bare Hands: TV Rain

However, CAS said the Ecuadorian Football Federation (FEF) had breached Article 21 of the FIFA Disciplinary Code for using a document containing false information.

Ecuador has always denied that the player is ineligible. The FEF said they used the correct eligibility criteria to select Castillo and were analyzing the next steps as they did not agree with the sanction given.

Alfaro has chosen to select the key players from the qualifiers such as goalkeeper Alexander Dominguez, midfielder Carlos Gruezo along with forwards Enner Valencia and Kevin Rodriguez.

“I’m here to give opportunities… I said the doors of the national team were open as I called players from 18 to 38 years old and everyone got their place,” the manager told a news conference on Saturday.

Also Read :  North Korea fires 23 missiles, one landing off South Korean coast for first time

“I know these players have a lot of commitment… Now I have to analyze if they take advantage of those opportunities in order to provide what the team needs” added Alfaro.

Ecuador’s Vice President, Alfredo Borrero, will be at the opening match of the tournament on Sunday when the country faces Qatar as President Guillermo Lasso will not be present.

Ecuador will also play Senegal and the Netherlands in Group A.


Goalkeepers: Alexander Dominguez (Liga de Quito), Hernan Galindez (Aucas), Moises Ramirez (Independiente del Valle).

Defenders: Pervis Estupinan (Brighton & Hove Albion), Angelo Preciado (Gent), Piero Hincapie (Bayer Leverkusen), Xavier Arreaga (Seattle Sounders), Diego Palacios (Los Angeles FC), Jackson Porozo (Troyes), Robert Arboleda (Sao Paulo ). ), Felix Torres (Santos Laguna), William Pacho (Royal Antwerp FC).

Also Read :  Russia claims Kyiv hit its air bases, fires more missiles

Midfielders: Moises Caicedo (Brighton), Jose Cifuentes (Los Angeles FC), Alan Franco (Talleres), Jhegson Mendez (Los Angeles FC), Carlos Gruezo (Augsburg), Gonzalo Plata (Valladolid), Angel Mena (Leon), Ayrton Preciado (Santos Laguna), Romario Ibarra (Pachuca), Jeremy Sarmiento (Brighton)

Strikers: Enner Valencia (Fenerbahce), Michael Estrada (Cruz Azul), Djorkaeff Reasco (Newell Old Boys), Kevin Rodriguez (Imbabura SC).

($1 = 0.9431 Swiss francs)

Reporting by Angelica Medina in Mexico City; Edited by Ken Ferris

Our Standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button